Shining a Spotlight on Logan as She Graduates

Dear Logan,

First, I must tell you that I only reserve my “spotlight” series for a select few in my life that I find worthy of a public shout out (plus none of this would easily fit into a greeting card). But, if anyone deserves this public gushing right now, it is you. Not to mention, it’s always nice to hear this stuff from people other than your parents.

I find it hard to believe that I first met you as an infant, nearly 17 years ago, which means technically, I’ve known you longer than you’ve known me. I am dumbfounded by the fact that this week, you will be handed a diploma and sent off into the real world to find out who you really are.

What I want to say to you is this…unlike most people your age, you are fortunate enough to have laid a solid foundation in the search we all go through to find ourselves. I have watched you from a distance and up close develop strong values (with the occasional slip-up…yes, I know about those too), beliefs and convictions that elude many of us until well into adulthood. Yes, you will continue to question, change and discover who it is you choose to be, but, please understand, you are so ahead of the game in these departments. Take that little tidbit of information as you go out into the world.

Hold on to your friendships, your family and your faith when you walk out that door and know that everyone is rooting for you and the success you are destined to receive. You deserve all that is good in this world. You haven’t settled for less than that yet. Don’t settle for anything less in the future. Know your worth. It will guide you to great things. It already has.

And to your parents…..I can’t say enough. It has truly been a pleasure to watch them raise such incredible kids. Melissa, you have kept me grounded in my own parenting moments, reassuring me that a little “mom crazy” does not equal permanent psychological damage to the childhood psyche. In fact, it helps build beautiful, inspiring kids.

So Logan, I will continue to watch, cheer and hope for your continued success. Don’t unfriend me on Facebook or Instagram when you run off to college. We know where you are and I’m always up for a road trip to accompany your mother on a fact finding mission if things go awry and we need to do an intervention.

Since I’m a sappy sucker for quotes, I’ll leave you with this one:

Don’t live down to expectations. Go out there and do something remarkable. ~Wendy Wasserstein

I have all the faith in the world that remarkable things will come your way. They already have.

Happy Graduation Logan!!!!

Image

Leave a Reply

